RENDERED: Illustrated Food History
TIDBITS
TIDBITS 28: Performative Food Waste
0:00
-19:25

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of RENDERED: Illustrated Food History

TIDBITS 28: Performative Food Waste

Rage bait, Internet culture, and Conspicuous consumption

Hello, and welcome back to TIDBITS, the show where I bring you some bite-sized food history! I’m Lari, aka. Larisanjou, and I’m back for more! Without further ado, let’s get into it.

I’m an avid internet user, as are many of you, I imagine. In the Wild West of the Internet of the late 90’s-early 00’s, I was one of those millennials who was downloading music onto my family’s computer, reading video game forums and fanfiction, writing my angsty poetic teenage ramblings on my Deadjournal, and learning about all kinds of nerdy subcultures. I didn’t know people in “real life” who shared all my interests, so I loved finding these spaces online.

While it’s true the Internet has always been a playground for psychos, perverts, scammers and predators… it’s also been a refuge for innocent weirdos like me! 

This post is for paid subscribers

RENDERED: Illustrated Food History
TIDBITS
Tidbits of food history: researched, written, and narrated by Lari. Paid Substack subscribers access the narrated essay, plus one unique illustration. New episodes on the first of every month. (@larisanjou, larisanjou.substack.com)